Victorious 2023 European Ryder Cup Team Awarded AGW Golf Writers Trophy

This year’s winning European Ryder Cup team, captained by Luke Donald, has been voted the recipient of the prestigious 2023 Association Golf Writers (AGW) Golf Writers trophy award.

Members of the Association, and in a very close decision, voted with a majority in favour of the European Ryder Cup Team, who regained the Ryder Cup with a comprehensive five-point triumph at the Marco Simone course in Rome.

This year marks a 73 rd straight year members have voted for the award while the decision also celebrates a seventh occasion since 1985, and a first since 2006, that the European Ryder Cup team has been honoured the AGWs
leading award.

Donald had been a member of both the 2004 and 2006 European winning teams that were honoured with the AGW Golf Writers award, while the AGW members voted in favour of awarded Ing Donald the trophy in 2011 for his outstanding individual golfing efforts that year.

In accepting this year’s award, Donald proudly spoke on behalf of his victorious team:

“On behalf of the 2023 European Ryder Cup team, I can say that each and every one of us is delighted to have been voted as the winners of this year’s AGW Golf Writers Trophy”, he said.

“One of the things I was most proud of at Marco Simone was the culture we created within the group, where everyone was valued and everyone played their part in such a memorable triumph. It is therefore highly appropriate that we have won this as a group too.

“I was honoured to win this prestigious award in the past as part of the successful European Ryder Cup winning teams of both 2004 and 2006, as well as individually in 2011, and I am as grateful now as I was on those occasions.

“Myself and the players recognise and appreciate the important role the golf writers play in our business, both promoting the sport and telling our stories. These are the people who really know what professional golf is all about, and to be recognised by them makes it doubly special.”

Association Chairman, Phil Reid said: “What a great honour as the new AGW Chairman to advise Luke Donald members of the Association had voted to award the 2023 Golf Writers trophy to the victorious European Ryder Cup team.

“The European team under Luke’s tremendous leadership and dedication, added yet another memorable chapter in the long history of the Ryder Cup.

“As the award honours the European Ryder Cup team, the Association also congratulates the work of Luke’s own ‘backroom’ team along with the tremendous support of all those at the European Tour.

“The closeness of the vote among the members of the Association also reflected what a wonderful European golfing year for both the professional and amateur game”,

The 2023 Golf Writers trophy vote was, as mentioned, a close decision with Spanish-born Masters champion Jon Rahm always very close behind in the voting right up to the receipt of the last of the votes.

AGW members also recognised the efforts of the European Solheim Cup team in retaining the trophy in Spain, Rory McIlroy’s efforts in winning a fifth Race to Dubai title and Viktor Hovland ending his PGA Tour season in winning the
FedEx Cup Series.

There was strong support for French golfer Celine Boutier after a marvellous season that included her maiden major championship triumph on home soil in the Evian Championship.

Also gleaning good support in the voting was Swedish sensation Ludvig Aberg while the AGW recognised the efforts of the Junior Ryder Cup, led by Stevie Gallacher, who ended a run of six straight US wins with victory a day prior to
the Ryder Cup at Marco Simone in Rome.

The AGW Golf Writers trophy will be presented to Luke Donald, and on behalf of his winning Ryder Cup team, at the 2024 AGW annual dinner at Royal Troon.

About the Golf Writers Trophy award

The annual award honours the team, person or persons, resident or born in Europe, who, in the opinion of a majority of the members, have made the most outstanding contribution to golf during the preceding 12 months.

First presented in 1951 to Max Faulkner and has been presented each subsequent year, including a fifth occasion last year to Rory McIlroy.

Further enquiries:  Please contact AGW Secretary Bernie McGuire at email: ; Mobile: +44 7946 553207

Comments are closed.