Three years ago golf’s ruling bodies introduced ‘Harrington’s Rule’ and now there will be ‘Rose’s Rule’.
This will in honour of reigning U.S. Open champion Justin Rose after PGA Tour officials overturned a two-stroke penalty imposed on the Englishman after ‘highly sophisticated’ TV equipment was used to establish Rose had caused his ball to move at the last hole on day three of the event.
Rose was totally unaware of the incident, and there was the sight of he and playing partner Sergio Garcia standing on the 18th green and looking at CBS TV re-runs of the incident.
However it was to Rose was taken back to the TV compound and the video clip magnified 50 times that he was slapped with a two-shot penalty.
Rose was unhappy with decision and yet another episode in golf’s ‘trial by video’.

Justin Rose in action during the final round of the Players Championship after a ruling that will be forever known as ‘Rose’s Rule’. (Photo – kenneth e. dennis/kendennisphoto.com)
Three years ago Padraig Harrington was disqualified ahead of the second round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship when ‘slow-mo’ video footage showed, and unbeknown to the triple Major winner, that he had brushed his ball forward in marking his ball.
And while the penalty was two strokes, Harrington was disqualified as he had handed in his scorecard.
However there was such an outcry at the use now of this sophisticated TV equipment golf’s ruling bodies – the R & A and the USGA – introduced a rules ‘decision’ that would protect players from being disqualified after the event.
The rule, and now known as ‘Harrington’s Rule’, will not stop players being penalised but it should not lead to situations like Harrington’s where he was disqualified.
The scenario Rose faced was a PGA Tour first under Decision 18/4 of the Rules of Golf – ‘Television Evidence Shows Ball at Rest Changed Position But By Amount Not Reasonably Discernible to Naked Eye’.
The penalty imposed on Rose was removed, his second round adjusted from 73 to 71 and teed-up on the final day officially sharing third place on seven under par despite appearing in the draw as being five seven under par.
“I was willing to accept the way things played out last night and under 50 times magnification you could argue that there was a tiny bit of a roll towards the toe of my club,” he said.
“I’m talking a hair or a millimetre or a quarter dimple or whatever it might be.
“I didn’t know this new TV rule was in place and it wasn’t till I got onto the internet last night and read about the new rule and I thought to myself, that’s exactly how it happened on 18 yesterday.
“So, I felt that was relevant to me and that’s when a light bulb went on when I was at home and I kind of scratched my head and I thought, well, that’s exactly how it happened.”
Rose was then met by Tour officials who took just 10 minutes to confirm his suspicions.
“I was very surprised the ruling was overturned,” said Rose.
“Very rarely is that ever the case.
“So it’s been very interesting to be on the wrong side of a ruling and then be on the right side of a ruling within sort of 12, 15 hours.”



