Five-time DPWT No. 1 McIlroy Now Targets Monty’s Record-Setting Eight Money List Titles

Now five-time DP World Tour No. 1 Rory McIlroy has set his sights on targeting Colin Montgomerie’s record of eight Tour No. 1 titles.

This after McIlroy sealed success in this year’s Race to Dubai without even hitting a shot heading into this week’s season final event in the DP World Tour season at Jumierah Estates.

The DP World Tour first advised in media ‘victory’ briefing notes ahead of the conclusion to today’s Nedbank Challenge that McIlroy will be the 2023 Tour No. 1 as none of those in contention in the final round at Sun City would not earn enough money on the rankings that would deny McIlroy the title.

Now at the close of the Nedbank McIlroy, and who has not played since the Ryder Cup, has accumulated 5164 DPWT ranking points and that’s 2083 points ahead of the present second ranked and reigning Masters champion Jon Rahm, and with Rahm electing not to travel to South Africa.

Given 2,000 ranking points is awarded to the winner next Sunday not even Rahm, and if he were to be successful in defending his Dubai title, could not overtake McIlroy.

McIlroy spoke to The Telegraph via his Irish-born manger about the delight in winning a fifth R2D title saying: “Winning the Race to Dubai title for the fifth time is an incredible honour and another important milestone in my career.

“Capturing the Ryder Cup in Rome was a highlight this year and adding this title makes it all the more special”.

And it’s not lost on McIlroy the possibilithy now of breaking Scot Colin Montgomerie’s record of eight European No.1 money list titles.

McIlroy said:  “I still have distance to cover to reach Colin’s tally in the order of merit.

“Though it does inspire me to give it my best in the upcoming years”.

Monty was unbeatable for seven years running, winning the then named European Tour Order of Merit from 1993 to 1999 inclusive, and then reigned supreme six years later in 2005.

McIlroy’s DP World Tour year has been highlighted by wins at the Hero Dubai Desert Classic and Genesis Scottish along with second at the US Open and third at the WGC – Dell Match-Play Championship while just competing in nine Tour counting events.

McIlroy first captured the Race to Dubai title in 2012 and finished No. 1 again in 2014, 2015 and last year.


Comments are closed.