Victorious European Ryder Cup captain Jose Maria Olazabal was delighted to be cleared of a two-stroke penalty on day two of the KLM Open in Zandvoort.
Olazabal’s had ball came to rest in trees at the second hole but in moving about bent-over and trying to establish a stance to eventually play his shot the Spaniard broke a small branch with his foot.

Jose Maria Olazabal relieved of any wrong doing on day two of the KLM Open. (Photo – Stuart Adams/www.golftourimages.com)
A female rules official believed Olazabal in breach of the rules even though he didn’t have a club in his hand but suggested Olazabal add a two-stroke penalty after putting out for a par.
However he was approached on the fourth hole by Chief Referee, Andy McFee and again after his round.
After a lengthy discussion in the scorer’s hut involving Warren and Dutchman Maarten Lafeber and where Olazabal went tried to replicate his actions at the second, he was cleared of any wrong doing.
Olazabal was eventually allowed to sign for a 68 and a three under par tally.
He said: “The lady referee really wasn’t too sure of the ruling so rather than cause any trouble I told her I would take a two-shot penalty.
“Then when I was on my way to the fourth fairway Andy McFee approached me saying I need to talk to you about the ruling on the second hole.
“I explained at the time what happened but he wasn’t sure also of the ruling either.
“So I kept on playing and said I would talk to him when I finished my round.
“But as I didn’t have a club in my hand, and I was simply trying to find somewhere where I could take a stance, he said it was okay and there was no rules breach.
“However I was worried about it for the rest of the round so it was good news in the end and I’m very happy now to be at three under par and not one under.”