Golf Ruling Of The Week … What Happened Next?

Here’s a golf ruling for you and it centered around Australia’s Brett Rumford during this week’s Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles in Scotland.

The double 2013 Race to Dubai winner played his tee shot down the par four, ninth hole but with the ball landing in the rough.

However in looking for his ball a marshal stood on Rumford’s Titleist so under the Rules of Golf Rumford was allowed to drop the ball.

But as the first drop landed outside the one club distance Rumford picked up his ball for a second drop though on this occasion his ball disappeared down a deep rabbits hole.

Rumford was naturally reluctant to put his hand down the hole, so it was left to super caddy, John ‘Ronnie’ Roberts to go ferreting after the Perth-born golfer’s ball.

Ronnie had to lie on the ground and then stretch his arm out full length before getting his hands on the ball.

Now here’s our question.  What was the next ruling afforded Rumford?  (See below snap).

Rummy and Ronnie could need a free drop to get themselves out of this scrum following Rummy's Volvo China Open victory.  (Photo - www.golffile.ie)

Rummy and Ronnie could have done with  a free drop to get themselves out of this scrum following Rummy’s Volvo China Open victory. (Photo – www.golffile.ie)

 

Answer to our rules quiz – Rummy was allowed to place the ball where it hit the ground on his second drop.

 



Comments are closed.