Rory McIlroy Wins Prestigious Golf Writers Association Award.

The year only gets better for World No. 1 Rory McIlroy after taking out the the Association of Golf Writers’ Trophy for 2012 ahead of Europe’s triumphant Ryder Cup team.

Voting was conducted among all members of the Association of Golf Writers (AGW) and while it was expected the victorious European side would win the award, it was the 23-year old Northern Irishman voted top by those covering golf.

World No. 1 Rory McIlroy joins fellow Northern Irishman in winning the coveted Association of Golf Writers Award. (Photo –

The award comes shortly after McIlroy was named PGA Tour Player of the Year.

McIlroy capped his fifth full season in the pro ranks by capturing a second Major Championship with his eight-shot victory in the PGA Championship at Kiawah Island.

The curly-haired Holywood golfer also won four other tournaments including the European Tour season-ending D P World Tour Championship, Dubai shortly after emulating Luke  Donald by topping the money lists on both sides of the Atlantic.

“The 2012 season was a superb one for every aspect of European golf and that comes across when you look at the names of the players in contention for the Golf Writers Trophy this year – therefore to come out on top of that list is a great honour,” said McIlroy.

“Throughout the year, wherever we play, the golf writers are there helping to promote our sport and give a voice to golf and, therefore, I am delighted to win their award. I hope to give them plenty more good things to write about in 2013.”

It is the fourth occasion in the past six years that the coveted Writers award has been won by Irish born golfers with past winners including Padraig Harrington winning in 2007 and 2008, and Graeme McDowell for his US Open success in 2010.

The European Ryder Cup team came second in the voting, followed by Medinah miracle worker, Ian Poulter.

England’s 53-year-old Roger Chapman was third in the voting followed by Great Britain and Ireland Curtis Cup team who secured an historic victory at Nairn.

Chapman capped his year winning the Senior PGA Championship and the US Senior Open, a double only previously achieved by Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus and Hale Irwin.


1951 – Max Faulkner

1952 – Miss Elizabeth Price

1953 – Joe Carr

1954 – Frances Stephens

1955 – LGU Junior team (B Bostock, c)

1956 – John Beharrell

1957 – Dai Rees

1958 – Harry Bradshaw

1959 – Eric Brown

1960 – Sir Stuart Goodwin

1961 – Cdr. RCT Roe

1962 – Marley Spearman

1963 – Michael Lunt

1964 – Eisenhower Trophy team (J Carr, c)

1965 – Gerald Micklem

1966 – Ronnie Shade

1967 – John Panton

1968 – Michael Bonallack

1969 – Tony Jacklin

1970 – Tony Jacklin

1971 – Walker Cup team (M Bonallack, c)

1972 – Mickey Walker

1973 – Peter Oosterhuis

1974 – Peter Oosterhuis

1975 – The Golf Foundation

1976 – Eisenhower Trophy team (S Saddler, c)

1977 – Christy O’Connor Sen.

1978 – Peter McEvoy

1979 – Severiano Ballesteros

1980 – Sandy Lyle

1981 – Bernhard Langer

1982 – Gordon Brand Jnr

1983 – Nick Faldo

1984 – Severiano Ballesteros

1985 – Ryder Cup team (T Jacklin, c)

1986 – Curtis Cup team (D Bailey, c)

1987 – Ryder Cup team (T Jacklin, c)

1988 – Sandy Lyle

1989 – Walker Cup team (G Marks, c)

1990 – Nick Faldo

1991 – Severiano Ballesteros

1992 – Solheim Cup team (M Walker, c)

1993 – Bernhard Langer

1994 – Laura Davies

1995 – Ryder Cup team (B Gallacher, c)

1996 – Colin Montgomerie

1997 – Alison Nicholas

1998 – Lee Westwood

1999 – Sergio Garcia

2000 – Lee Westwood

2001 – Walker Cup team (P McEvoy, c)

2002 – Ryder Cup team (S Torrance, c)

2003 – Annika Sorenstam

2004 – Ryder Cup team (B Langer, c)

2005 – Annika Sorenstam

2006 – Ryder Cup team (I Woosnam, c)

2007 – Padraig Harrington

2008 – Padraig Harrington

2009 – Lee Westwood

2010 – Graeme McDowell

2011 – Luke Donald

2012 – Rory McIlroy


Comments are closed.