Ramsay Conscious Of Whiteford Blunder After Andalucian Rules Scare.

Scotland’s Richie Ramsay confessed he was immediately conscious of Peter Whiteford’s mistake after a rules scare just six inches from the hole on the final green during the third round of the Andalucian Open.

Ramsay momentarily had visions in following fellow Scot Peter Whiteford and being thrown out of the Spanish event when he thought his ball had moved at address on the 18th green of the Aloha club course in Marbella.

Whiteford was controversially disqualified from the recent Avantha Masters in India when just lying one stroke from the lead early on day four after a rules infraction also on the third day, and also at the last hole.

Richie Ramsay in rules scare late on day 3 of Andalucian Open. (Photo - Eoin Clarke/www.golffile.ie)

Whiteford fell victim to another of golf’s TV anorak’s despite it now coming to light that a first look at his actions during that third round depicted no break of the rules, and it was a TV viewer who phoned-in saying Whiteford’s ball had indeed moved.

However in contrast to Whiteford, Ramsay immediately called for a ruling and after a very long delay it was agreed his ball had not moved but just oscillated.

Ramsay headed-up the path to the scorer’s hut with a round of 71 for a two under par total

“I didn’t really thinking the ball moved and it shook but I wasn’t paying attention,” he said.

“My playing partner and his caddie weren’t watching and the thing is my shadow was over the ball and the hole, and as I looked the shadows were kind of moving.

“I didn’t want to have to add a stroke penalty and I was thinking a bit about what happened to Peter.

“The rules official said the decision was up to me and with no evidence that the ball had moved I just went ahead and tapped-in.”

Ramsay was heading to the final round at two under par and nine strokes behind surprise front-runner, Eduardo De La Riva.



Comments are closed.