‘Gonzo’ Cleared Of Any DQ Castellon Masters Suspicion.

Spaniard Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano has been cleared of any thoughts he should have been disqualified for signing for an incorrect score on the final day of the Castellon Masters.

‘Gonzo’ managed to wrap-up his 2012 Tour card in finishing a distant second to compatriot Sergio Garcia on the Club de Campo del Mediterranean course.

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano at the centre of Castellon Masters controversy?

‘Gonzo’ picked up a prize cheque of Euro 222,220 to jump from 173rd on the money list and to well inside the top-115 at 89th.

However while delighted to record his best finish all season Gonzo’s face went white when he was summons back into the Scorer’s Hut shortly after ending with a 16-under par tally.

‘Gonzo’ was speaking with Spanish journalists at the time and immediately broke off his interviews to return to the scoreing enclosure.

Scotland’s Richie Ramsay obviously knew something was amiss as he remained in the Scorer’s Hut awaiting confirmation his final round 66 was correct.

‘Gonzo’ was met in the Scorer’s Hut by Tournament Director and fellow Spaniard, Miguel Vidador.

There was some discussion between ‘Gonzo’ and Vidador as well as the official scorer.

Vidador then was observed embracing ‘Gonzo’ and patting him on the back and with ‘Gonzo’ emerging indicating all was fine.

However it’s emerged ‘Gonzo’ is believed to have signed for a seven under par 65 when in fact he recorded a seven under par 64.

No doubt, ‘Gonzo’ thought he was competing on a par 72 course rather than a par 71.

But then ‘Gonzo’ is no stranger to the Castellon course having played the three earlier rounds last on the Spanish course along with appearing in all three prior events on the course where Garcia grew up.

It seems ‘Gonzo’s’ scores on each of the 18 holes adds up to a 64 but in thinking he was on a par 72 course his marker,  Anthony Wall wrote down 65.

But a check of the Rules of Golf reveals:

Qn. In stroke play, a competitor returns his score card to the Committee. The hole by hole scores are correct, but the competitor records a total score which is one stroke lower than his actual total score. Is the competitor subject to penalty?

Ans. No. The competitor is responsible only for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole (Rule 6-6d). The Committee is responsible for the addition of scores (Rule 33-5). If the competitor records a wrong total score, the Committee must correct the error, without penalty to the competitor.

So well done ‘Gonzo’ in securing your card for 2012.



Comments are closed.