Law Joins Six Major Champions Having Won Vic Open

Scotland’s David Law now finds himself in very illustrious company after his brilliant success in the ISPS Handa Vic Open.

Law, 27 came from three shots behind with three holes to play to birdie the 16th and then sensationally eagle the last in a closing 66 and win by one shot with an 18-under par victory tally at the 13th Beach course to the south-east of Melbourne.

The Victoria Open was first staged in 1957 and Law joins the following Major Champions, including five Open winners, as having captured the event.

David Law wins 2019 Vic Open. (Photo –

They include:-

Peter Thomson (Five-time Open champion)  – Won the Victoria Open in 1958, 1968 and 1973

Kel Nagle (1960 Open winner) – 1967 & 1969

Gary Player (Three-time Masters & Open winner, US Open winner & PGA Champion) – 1959

David Graham (US Open & PGA Champion) – 1970

Greg Norman (Dual Open winner) – 1984

Ian Baker-Finch (Open Champion) – 1985.

Law is also only the fifth non-Australian-born winner of the Victoria Open after Player (1959), Kiwi Walter Godfrey (1972), Americans Jim Benepe (1988) and Patrick Burke (1994).



Comments are closed.